Drum & Bass blog of an underground DJ

Posts tagged “dbridge

Ingredients 029 – Mise En Place (Various Artists)

A relatively new label to the drum & bass scene ingredients was founded in 2009 by DJ Psylence to a warm reception with their first EP featuring Sato & Break. Things have gone from strength to strength for the little label pushing the definitive underground sound from up and coming artists such as Skeptical, Jubei, Krakota and Dub Phizix to name but a few.

Traditionally, ingredients has been firmly about deep drum & bass, not the kind that smashes dancefloors to pieces but the kind you’d hear in the second room with all the hardcore fans.

To that end I’d be surprised to see an ingredients release in the top 10 on beatport, but that may be about to change with this latest release. . .

Ingredients records presents first of two various artists EPs this year. “Mise en place” is the 2-part series and showcases some of the finest music signed to the label so far.

Kodo ‘the jackal’ (dBridge Remix)

A first time appearance for dbridge on ingredients and hopefully not the last! Setting the pace with a huge steppy roller, true to form, dbridge brings out the impeccable production techniques with his tight, intricate drum patterns and loping basslines, accented with eerie vocal layers leading the edge to even darker synth stabs. Some say dbridge’s style is a little monotonous, layer it up with some shuffle from another song and it becomes an entirely different beast.

Kinetic & Mark Recoil ‘Cold Streets’:

Continuing the flavour is another deep roller from this debut duo; a steady paced head bobber of a tune led by dark pads and one shot vocals. Very minimalistic with some quality bass work, its an easy fit for the ingredients label.

I cant help but think the strings take a lot of the energy out from the tune though, theyre quite loud in the mix and the bass growls occasionally battle for space with them.

Foreign Concept ‘Jaipur’ (Villem remix):

Asian strings and choirs set the scene for this monster, sour notes build the tension impeccably till the murderous b-line can be contained no more. Unleashing a beast of a dancefloor smasher that’s caught the attention of many of dnb’s top dj’s. If youve listened to a mix from one of the big boys in the last 3 months you’ll most probably recognise this. With its distinctive bounce and understated snare, a lovely shuffle keeps the tune rolling nicely. I can only imagine what this sounds like on a big rig, I bet its epic.

Villem’s been ‘one to watch’ for a while, if this is anything to go by, he’s gonna have a hell of a year!

Stealth & Stylus ‘One Way’:

Theres immediatley a much lighter mood to this track than the rest of the EP. Bright, enticing pads and soulful female vocals set the stage for the opening of a happy roller with a tough edge that only shows its face a third of the way through with some dark etched growls clawing through the pads. Its a nice sound I’d like to see more of on ingredients.

Overall a great look for Ingredients,  pushing out big names whilst giving the new blood a chance to get their tunes on a huge EP. Well worth bagging for your record crate.

Due for release on Sept 17th on vinyl & digital.

Go check the previews over on soundcloud now! http://soundcloud.com/ingredients


Detonate – Autumn 2012 Lineup

Another fresh load of students are on their way to nottingham soon and with that, another year of Detonate. This ones set to be bigger than last year by a long shot! With a line-up like that set to shake the foundations of club stealth, there’ll be something for everyone!

Kicking things off this year theres a killer lineup that’ll be keeping us raving till the early hours on the 28th September:

What a way to get things started! If you look closely you’ll see your very own Howitzer is making his début performance at Detonate 😉

So get your tickets early to avoid dissapointment! http://www.detonate1.co.uk/event.php?eid=71769

Ingredients 029 – Misé En Place EP pt.1

Big things on the horizon from Ingredients! This is set to be a LARGE ep with sounds from the likes of dbridge, villem and foreign concept to name but a few.


I’ll have a follow up review to this closer to the release, but for now, check out these previews:


Full release on the 17th september

DRS – I Dont Ususally Like MC’s, But . . . (Soul:R)



With a reputation now stretching well over 15 years, DRS is a truly versatile MC, host, lyricist and recording artist. Cutting his teeth and touring worldwide with the legendary Good Looking label, his soulful style on the mic and honest lyrics are unmatched. In recent years, he has been an integral part of the Soul:r camp, recording tracks with Mist:ical, Calibre, Marcus Intalex, and Lynx & Kemo and appearing as resident MC for Soul:ution and A Bunch of Cuts nights. To show the versatility and wide appeal of his unique style, in 2012 he has now become part of the Toddla T sound system as Toddla T’s official MC. On top of all these achievements, DRS is also head of the Estate Recordings label in Manchester, part of hip-hop crew Broke’n’English, (alongside fellow MC Strategy and DJ Konny Kon), and a respected recording artist in his own right with a massive hit ‘D.F.T.F’ on Metalheadz alongside Need For Mirrors kicking off what promises to be the best year yet for this talented Mancunian.

His recent output including the massive Count To Ten with Enei and Holding On with Lenzman have really set the bar high for the rest of his new album, but we wont be dissapointed. A quick flick through the tracklist reveals an album literally brimming with talent:


1. Soul Remember ft. Fox (Prod. Dub Phizix)
2. Blackhearted (Prod. Lynx)
3. Autonomic (Prod. dBridge)
4. Do What? (Prod. Genotype)
5. Star Voyager ft. Jenna G (Prod. S.P.Y)
6. It Ain’t Easy ft. Kim Nishikawra & Tyler Daley (Prod. Marcus Intalex)
7. Play Wid Fire (Prod. Dub Phizix)
8. Renegade ft. Kemo (Prod. S.P.Y)
9. Holding On ft. Jehst & Riya (Prod. Lenzman)
10. Keep The Faith (Prod. Calibre)
11. Count To Ten (Prod. Enei)
12. Bun Ya ft. Strategy, Fox, Skittles, Konny Kon & T Man (Prod. Dub Phizix & Chimpo)
13. Habitual (Prod. Calibre)
14. Raindrops ft. Pete Simpson (Prod. Lenzman)
15. Music To Me (Prod. Marcus Intalex)


Now that’s what I call an album. Cannot wait for this one.


Previews can be found here: http://www.digital-tunes.net/releases/i_don_t_usually_like_mc_s_but__

Preorder from the Soul:R shop: http://mp3.soulr.com/album/i-dont-usually-like-mcs-but

Release date: 27th Aug 2012